on my boombox: zola jesus, “in your nature” (david lynch remix)

5 Jan

Sometimes, we all have to admit when we were late to the party. Compared to most audiophiles, I am relatively open to admitting (with little to no shame) when I “discover” a new musician who’s been around for ages. I may be late to the party, the keg might almost be kicked, but I will make like Robyn, dancing on my own and having more fun than anybody.

Case in point: Zola Jesus, aka Nika Roza Danilova. Sure I’d seen her name mentioned on blogs, especially back in October when she released her first full-length album, Conatus. But I hadn’t thoroughly checked her out until I found one of her latest tracks remixed—a rare occurrence, as apparently Zola strongly resists other artists remixing her work. However, when prolific surrealist filmmaker-turned-musician David Lynch rings you up and says he wants to remix your song, you should probably change your tune.

And thank goodness Zola did, or else we wouldn’t have this gem of a remix to brighten up January. Not to mention that I wouldn’t have discovered Zola’s other work; seriously, I’ve spent all day pouring through Conatus, Stridulum, and Valusia, and I haven’t been more intrigued during a first listen in a very long time.

 And oh hey look, guess who will be at U Street Music Hall on February 16? Yep, you guessed it, me. Guess who I’ll be watching? Yep, Zola Jesus.  Thanks, Universe.

Leave a Reply

