on deck: megafaun at black cat

15 Mar

Contrary to popular belief, or what the tag cloud on this blog might indicate, sometimes I go to shows that don’t involve synthesizers. Or drum machines. Or glowsticks.

…just kidding, glowsticks are always in play.

But as much as I love my electro and hip-hop and chill wave and trill wave and whatever else we import from Williamsburg these days, sometimes I just need a break from all the bells and whistles. In these instances, I turn to bands that serve straight-up rock and folk, my musical equivalents of comfort food.

Enter the folk-rock gods of Megafaun.

This band entered my life when my all-time favorite DC bluegrass band, The Potomac Bombs, covered the Megafaun single “Get Right.” Upon discovering that this beautiful song sadly did not belong to the Bombs, I began delving into Megafaun’s discography.

I started with their 2011 self-titled album. I dug it just fine, but the real adoration didn’t set in until I started listening to 2009’s Gather Form & Fly. This album is pretty close to perfect; it’s an amazingly subtle blend of melodic harmonies with obscure lyrics, meandering song structure, and all sorts of unexpected twists and turns. Their brand of rustic Americana is fresh, yet somehow still incredibly casual and not even slightly contrived. These guys always sound like they’re just screwing around and having fun, but happen to stumble upon moments of greatness.

Pitchfork perfectly articulated this sentiment when they described the group as “attempting the familiar, arriving at the unexpected.” This is especially admirable as so many bands are guilty of just the opposite.

So if you’re in the mood for some juicy pop tunes mixed with psychedelic banjo, that will be in ample supply at Black Cat tomorrow night. A match made in heaven, if you ask me.

Megafaun, “These Words”

Leave a Reply

