on my boombox: yuksek, “on a train” (magician remix)

30 May

It’s no secret that much of the music on my blog comes from the taste and expertise of my many musically inclined friends. The best is when friends expose me to new music as we share DJ responsibilities while sitting on porch on a Saturday night in the summer– periodically switching out iPhones from the speakers while different people serve up their new favorite beats (or just throw on a tried-and-true classic. Anything by the Talking Heads will do).

I discovered the track below by this very same process, during an especially enjoyable porch sitting session this past weekend. Everyone was bringing out the good stuff and fresh beats were in abundant supply, but this one especially stuck out.

I haven’t listened to a ton of Yuksek before but I definitely will now, because the original version of this remix is strong. And this magician character, whoever he is, just takes it to a whole new level. This track is the perfectly versatile party song- one that gets people going but doesn’t feel awkward when played in a chill setting. It’s a new go-to hang out jam, and I’m always on the hunt for more of those.

2 Responses to “on my boombox: yuksek, “on a train” (magician remix)”

  1. Douglas Barlow June 4, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    you can find out just who this “magician character” is at u st music hall on june 20. If you cant wait, check out his soundcloud. His mixtapes (magic tapes) are a must. I cant get enough of this guy. He used to be part of the Belgian dj duo, Aeroplane. They have since split and are doing separate acts. Saw him a few months ago at u st, still one of the best shows ive seen there. Cant wait for his next visit!

    • stephmit June 15, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      I have some friends going to this, if I weren’t all booked for shows next week I’d be seeing him too!

Leave a Reply

