on deck: nighttime adventure society at black cat (album release party)

27 Jul

A truly amazing thing about DC summer is that here, unlike most other places, you can walk into a packed, sweaty club, and actually feel refreshed because it is STILL cooler there than outside. Cotdamn.

But this weekend, I’m making a pledge: I will not complain about the heat. I will not complain about the heat. Let’s move on.

In other exciting news, I am checking out a DC band on Saturday night. A band that has one of my favorite band names in recent memory: The Nighttime Adventure Society. Doesn’t that instantly make you think of a bunch of cool, smart bookclub friends who like to go out and get drunk together and make mischief? I certainly do.

NAS (also a great band acronym) plays a style of folk pop that reminds me of certain bands who made me fall in love with folk in high school- namely, Rilo Kiley, Broken Social Scene, and everything else that involved Feist. And no, I’m not just drawing similarities between NAS and Feist because of the presence of a red-headed female lead singer, though it doesn’t hurt the comparison.

I wouldn’t miss this album release at Black Cat this weekend. WOOT local music. WOOT red headed lead singers.

Nighttime Adventure Society, “Older Boys”

One Response to “on deck: nighttime adventure society at black cat (album release party)”

  1. Nick DePrey August 1, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Album will be out soon! Thanks all who stopped by Saturday night

Leave a Reply

